Blog Update

So its been 2 weeks since I updated my blog, its been a mixed 2 weeks.

I went to see my consultant last week and I also did an Exercise Tolerance Test. I hadn’t been told I had to have the Exercise Tolerance Test until the day before my appointment and I didn’t appreciate it as I had no idea what it would involve, especially as when I turned up I found out it would involve taking capillary blood gases from my ear and I am very afraid of pain and needles. I was having the Exercise Tolerance Test to see how much my oxygen levels desaturated during exercise. I had a pulse oximeter placed on one of my ears and I had capillary blood gases taken from my other ear at different stages of the study as well spirometry before and after the test. I was having a good day asthma-wise so the test went well, I didn’t desaturate oxygen levels much. πŸ™‚

I went to my appointment afterwards, my consultant as I mentioned a few posts back was changed after my previous one was due to retire; he disagrees with my previous consultant about subcut, he feels it doesn’t work for anyone and therefore in at least my case its not really an option, I don’t really have an opinion on this either way, I’m glad in a way that I won’t be going on it due to my needle phobia.

After looking through some of my notes and looking at tests I have had, he now thinks I have Anaphylaxis in addition to Asthma (and Eczema). As Xolair although theoretically should be suitable for me isn’t an option due to my IgE level being far too out of range, he is now considering Cyclosporin which is an Immunosuppresant drug. I’m not comfortable with the idea of this but I will think it through properly. He also thinks I need to take Vitamin supplements due to multiple food allergies resulting from Salicylate Sensitivity, Oral Allergy Syndrome and Latex Fruits allergy and I should therefore avoid most fruits and vegetables. This feels quite extreme. Because of this and the conclusion reached for some time that my asthma seems to have a fairly strong allergy component I will also be going to an Allergy Clinic too, this is so than a diet can be made up to suit my allergies with the allergy dietician and see what allergies can be worked on with the allergists.

So yeah I think that is pretty much all that has happened, I’ve probably forgot something because quite a bit happened.

College isn’t going so well at the moment, I am beginning to struggle with Human Biology as I find Cell Biology difficult to grasp and I am struggling with some concepts and calculations in Chemistry. I am finding Sociology to be a bit boring but on a positive note I did get 88% on my first essay which is like an A which I was pleased and surprised about. πŸ™‚

I went to another Asthma UK Youth Forum meeting (14/11) it was good but it was raining a lot! It was a shame that it was a smaller meeting than usual but never mind hopefully our next meeting in January will be bigger πŸ™‚

Christmas is coming soon and I really can’t wait πŸ˜€ I love Christmas not like for the presents (which are of course nice!) but I just love the festive atmosphere..

So I think I’ve nearly finished my ramble which I was going to post on Sunday but was too tired to post hehe.

Thought of the day – Live life to the full.

take care x

Leave a Reply

