Hmmm that didn’t go so well…

So this time last night I was cramming for today’s Human Biology exam, worked to some extent as I was fine with the stuff I had really worked on last night like about the immune system and the cardiac cycle/cardiovascular stuff.. but the exam itself was overall I think was a semi disaster.

 
The signs were all there, I went to bed at 1am after an evening of cramming, promised myself I’d wake up at 7am to allow myself at least an hour’s last minute revision. Didn’t happen. I overslept a bit and was instead panicking about getting ready for college. So off I went to college and on the way the park near where I live had had its grass cut – lo and behold I’m sneezing and wheezing and my exam is due to start in about 30 minutes. I meet my friend in the college foyer and we had decided to do a quick bit of revision, and it was really quick and we had both agreed Deep Vein Thrombosis (DVT) wasn’t likely to come up on the paper so decide to skip it.

Guess what came up on the paper? DVT. Luckily it wasn’t that bad. Then I went off to my exam room and the invigilator decides we might as well start a bit early seeing as I’m here before the 9.30 official exam time. I was like “Ummm.. OK” I find it hard to say no to people but what I really wanted to do was have a neb before doing my paper and if I wasn’t so scared of saying no I would have done because it would have been the sensible thing to do.


So the exam starts and I go through my usual routine of tackling the easiest questions first leaving lots of time for the harder ones.. there weren’t any outright easy questions on the paper so I decide to do the long answer questions. They were OK. So far so good I’m not doing too badly for time, I could do with a neb but I didn’t want to have to stop and neb or I’d run out of time and I wasn’t sure whether I’d be granted extra time I probably would have been but didn’t ask. My own fault. So at the halfway stage I’m on track then I decide to attempt the questions I wasn’t feeling so confident about, this isn’t too bad but I don’t feel we really studied it enough for it to come up on the paper.

Disaster strikes I misread a question which wastes a lot of time I ask for extra paper and try to attempt it again, by this point there is only 15 minutes left I had one part of a long question left worth 4 marks which I didn’t have a clue how to answer, the question I messed up on and then another question which I wasn’t able to answer cos I was getting too stressed and wasn’t reading what the question said and as I was pushed for time I couldn’t decide between 2 processes and was really panicking and put it down knowing it was wrong and thinking it was the other, in the exam ‘post-mortem’ it turned out it was the other process, absolutely gutted. So I more or less finished the paper when the exam ends, not happy with it, one question might as well not attempted as I had ran out of time.

So I leave and wait for my friends to come down from the main exam room and we begin the post-mortem, and we discuss our answers, don’t think anyone really came out feeling happy with how it went, personally I have to say I struggled with parts of the paper and I’m not happy with how it went. Over the last 6 months I’ve come to the conclusion that Human Biology overall is probably my weakest subject, I struggle with the volume in Sociology and the maths and mechanisms in Chemistry but in Human Biology I just don’t feel confident in it at all, especially with application questions.

Anyway, my next exams aren’t till the 7th June so I have just less than 2 weeks to get some decent revision and I’m going to make sure I feel much better prepared for these exams. I’m going to have a bit of a rest this evening because asthma-wise I don’t feel good then do some light revision later- every little helps right??

Leave a Reply

