My Goals

I’ve decided that I have a big overall ambition but I have lots of different ones too some  which I don’t discuss often.

Charity Work

This is something which is important to me, my plan has always been after medical school to do some kind of humanitarian work overseas. Its a big ambition as with my home life and physical health it might not be possible. In addition to that I want to do more charity work in general, I currently do some voluntary work for Asthma UK and the recent weekend I attended has inspired me to do more for them if possible. I want to also do a period of voluntary work in the local hospice, I think I will gain a lot from this in terms of insight and to be able to make a difference in any small way to the people there would be rewarding also.

A Levels

I need to finish all 3 A Levels this year and do very well in them this is my goal to focus on for the next 6 months and is my primary goal. It is vital I do well in these as only with these can I progress onto tackling most of my other goals. I should have finished my A Levels in 2007 but due to a series of unfortunate events e.g. being in intensive care during exams it did not happen. I then tried to go back at another school and do some A Levels but Asthma got in the way again so I decided to take a gap year in 2009 to have a rest and get my GCSE Maths at the right grade (I didn’t have a GCSE in Maths because I was in hospital during my GCSEs too)

I feel I have something to prove as people can write me off due to my difficulties and don’t think I can do things. I proved the head of A Levels at my college wrong when she said I would not be able to do the course due to my health, it hasn’t been easy I’ve overdid it sometimes but I got good grades last year and I need to pull up my socks and come out with even better ones.

Independence

I don’t have a lot of it due to obvious reasons, so developing this is an ongoing goal.

Studying Medicine (and becoming a doctor)

The biggie of course, it is very hard to get into and naturally I have to set myself something so hard to do and to not accept anything different. I am now 22 (!) and although people say I’m still really young, its hard to accept that there are people who are the same age already studying Medicine. But life happens and I think even if there weren’t all these problems 4 years ago I would not have been ready to study Medicine, I have had life experiences which will make me a better doctor hopefully. I have considered things long and hard, it would be very easy to give up if I did not really want to do this but I believe it is something I can do well and have something to offer despite the obstacles. I may not get into Medicine this year but I might next year and if not then I will do a degree in something related and reapply as a graduate but I will get there one day.

Weight Loss

Over the years the weight has crept on, I’m not happy with my appearance and it is self inflicted mainly so I think I need to ask for more support with this so I can improve my overall wellbeing and boost my self esteem somewhat so I can be happier with what I see in the mirror.

Swimming

I’d love to be able to swim! I had a traumatic experience when I was about 11 where I nearly drowned so didn’t try again but I really want to learn, its meant to be a great form of exercise too.

Get better at Maths

I have no confidence whatsoever in Maths and this is a big problem, I think I need to spend a period of time revising Maths and relearning some concepts so that I am more comfortable with it. In general I can do Maths if you don’t tell me its Maths, so I think there is some kind of block which means if you tell me its Maths I generally switch off because I know I can’t do it.

So yeah there wasn’t much of a point to this blog post, but I thought it’d be good to outline things for myself that I want to achieve.

4 thoughts on “My Goals

  1. kerri says:

    I love these goals! Keep us posted on how you’re doing at them. We have to do action plans [a way of setting goals for ourselves] for school, so if you’d like a more concrete way to focus yourself a week at a time I can send you the form, just e-mail me :).

    Good luck ❤

    • Simi says:

      Hey Kerri! Will keep you posted hehe! 😀
      Form sounds good, will e-mail you! 🙂 hope you’re good, oh and thanks for the good luck, I’ll need it! :S xx

  2. Dawn says:

    Hi Simi! I’ve been quietly following you for a while, (that makes me sound like a stalker!!), but I don’t think I’ve said hello before – so HI!
    I’ve always been interested in doing overseas humanitarian work too, once my nursing career is back on track it’s something I’ll definitely be looking into.
    I recently started volunteering for the Samaritans, for the most part I find it very enjoyable and rewarding.
    I also had a traumatic experience aged about 9, the first time I went into a swimming pool and nearly drowned. It’s unusual to find another adult who can’t swim! I looked into adult swimming lessons but that is where my confidence ran out lol
    Good luck with all your goals, they all sound really positive 🙂
    Dawn xx

    • Simi says:

      Hey Dawn! 🙂

      I read your blog too!
      wow the Samaritans, it must be so rewarding but tiring?!
      Hope you’re doing well and thanks for the luck, hope you manage to achieve your goals too! 😀

      Simi xx

Leave a Reply

